All Coast banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
107 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been out fishing about 10 times in the last two months, and have always baited at nachos, I am a nacho regular, and am surprised that in almost every case, 75% of the bait has rolled on me, I checked the normal stuff nothing has changed, i have actually even increased the flow to the tank, Do any of the other bait recievers have better bait?

Thanks for any input

·
Registered
99 Posts
I've had the same problems from Newport Bait to Nacho's. It might be the bait with not enough time to cure. I've even scaled down to 1/4 scoop same problem. JMO I'm no expert.
Art

·
Registered
761 Posts
i bait up about twice a week at nachos and never have a problem, you sure you are not crowding your bait??? i use a 55 gallon bait tank and get 1 scoop and have very little dead.
Chris (bitesomthing)
20 foot proline

·
Registered
107 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
My Bad, it would help if instead of being a smarty pants about it, you would give some helpful advice. I am human, I made a mistake, nevertheless the fish count for the 10 trips was somewhere around 25 dorado, 20 Bonita, 35 Yellowtail all caught at the local banks- 14 mile bank, 277, 152, East End and the Isthmus.

·
Registered
1,630 Posts
RE: Bait

Sudden changes in tempatures are hard on bait, especially offshore, where you got the 25 dorado. This summer, water temps may have likely varied between 68 and 75 for a single day of chasing dodos and temp breaks.

BTW, any pics??

Peter
"Trusty Rusty"
18' Bayrunner

·
Registered
154 Posts

We're having the same problem (Bill's bait). Two scoops in a 120gal tank and they only last a few hours, I think it's the water temp also.

·
Registered
7,160 Posts
Warm water is a BIG contributing factor in finbait mortality,
regardless of whether they are in a small bait tank, a party
boat bait tank, or a receiver at your neighborhood bait operation.

What is an even BIGGER problem is over crowding the