Coastal Fishing Forums: AllCoast banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,

I've always wanted a boat ever since I was a kid and now I'm finally old enough to afford one. But I've never been on a PB, nor fished from one, and don't know anybody who owns one either. So I'm turning to you folks for some much needed advice.

First, what sized boat would I need to fish the local islands like Cat and SCI and how much would such a boat cost? And do I need to get some kind of boating license?

Second, where would I go learn some of the basics on how to properly operate the boat, especially when it comes to fishing? I wish I could have picked this stuff up earlier, but like I said, I have no experience when it comes to this stuff.

thanks very much for help!

·
Registered
4,515 Posts
The first bit of advice I would give you, is to hook up with someone who owns a boat and go out as much as you can with them.

Boats can be very expensive if you have to bring it into the shop every time work needs to be done on it!

·
Registered
356 Posts
The ONLY thing easy about private boating is buying the boat. Ditto what kid creole said, go out with some one SEVERAL times and do the whole routine from minor repairs, fueling and cleanup after a looooooooong day on the water and see if its really for you.

After 5 years of private boating there are times that Ive wished I could just get off of aboat and go home with my crew fileted fish and relax with out all of the work involved. Good luck to you.

·
Registered
3,678 Posts
Welcome to AC. Love your handle. Makes me think your an honest guy 8)Good advice so far. As far as a boat what is your budget? IMO one of the best entry level rigs is a 24' Skipjack. You can get into one with gas power for under $20K.