Coastal Fishing Forums: AllCoast banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been slipping the boat in Newport for the last six months or so, and I got a letter today saying the slip fees are going up by roughly 10 percent. I understand this is a money based hobby, but which marinas provide the most bang for the buck? For example, friendly service, clean facilities, parking, good security, etc. I am thinking of changing marinas and would like to learn from others first.

Boat and Slip Stats
Wellcraft 270 - LOA of roughly 29 feet, 30 amp hook up, I may purchase a hull linear in the future.

Thanks,

Chris

·
Registered
5,533 Posts
Newport has evolved due to a new company that has come in and solicited private owners to put random boats on their docks for a $20/foot some odd fee, but charge up to $38/foot and keep the difference. I'm guessing that the city and associations will rebel once they get wind of it, however in the mean time this company is cleaning up! I lived there many years, however we moved the boat to Alamitos, and saved 60% in slip fee's years ago. Miss Newport, but don't miss the slip fee's!

·
Registered
257 Posts
unfortunately my recommendation is to get a slip where you CAN get a slip. these things are not easy to come by and unfortunately the cost has to be secondary to availability.

in MDR i'm in a very nice marina, and while i wouldn't have chosen to pay my current rate at first i definitely wouldn't move the boat to save a buck now. you get what you pay for....(or overpay for as the case may be)

·
Registered
1,853 Posts