All Coast banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
60 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all, just had my offer accepted on my first boat, so I decided to stop lurking on this great board and join in the conversations. I'm looking for some basic info, and please excuse any/all dumb questions.

A little about what I intend to use the boat for, and my experience -
It will mainly be used as a weekend get-away for my family (wife, two young boys). Hang out at the harbor, let the boys play, fish, etc.

I hope to get out fishing as often as I can (afford with fuel), which at most would be every weekend; likely every other weekend. I have zero experience navigating a boat on the ocean - I grew up on lakes and rivers. Lots of freshwater fishing experience, and have been tuna fishing 3-5 times a year for the last 5 years.

What is a good, reliable radio that won't break the bank?
Favorite on-line merchant or catalog for equipment, accessories, tackle, etc.?
Anyone know of a good site or article for new boaters?

Link to the boat I'm buying is below, what do you see that I need? (not want, since that list is already long and growing more expensive by the day)

Edit - corrected the link below

Thanks in advance for any assistance.

Lance

http://www.yachtworld.com/core/listing/pl_boat_detail.jsp?&units=Feet&checked_boats=1586762&lang=en&slim=broker&&hosturl=breakwater&&ywo=breakwater&

·
Registered
1,089 Posts
>my first boat,

>
>I hope to get out fishing as often as I can (afford with
>fuel), which at most would be every weekend;

>I have zero experience navigating a boat on
>the ocean -

>What is a good, reliable radio that won't break the bank?

>Lance

Lance:
Considering your admitted lack of experience and need to economize on fuel (who doesn't), I think you choose the perfect boat. The good news is that it comes with two radios, so no need to even damage the bank on that one.
Good luck,
Rick

·
Registered
60 Posts
Discussion Starter #3