Coastal Fishing Forums: AllCoast banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
257 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
ok, i'll be the first to admit i'm a rookie at the rockfishing. since there's not a lot of other stuff going on i'm more than eager to try out the short banks for some rockfish.

in the past i've just fished strips of squid on multi-hook rigs, and i mostly pulled up a MILLION sand dabs with an occasional rockfish. is there a better bait to use? does anyone fish whole/live dines or macks? any tips are appreciated.

·
Registered
1,991 Posts
Hey Jake the reason you are bringing up sand dabs is due to you are drifting over sandy areas and not the reef.

Learn to use your fishfinder better so you can find the hard reef areas and you will have better results.

For bait, strips of squid are always good and also live anchovies,sardines and cut mackrel works well.

Good luck when you go out again.

Dive Deep and Fish Hard!

Roger
[email protected]

http://momentoffame.com

·
Registered
354 Posts
I've never bothered with squidstrips, just use it whole, live or dead or half a rockfish on a 14/o hook. When bait runs low I use half a squid cut crossways. I have a secret spot right off the breakwater in x00 ft.(not secret anymore).

·
Registered
7,160 Posts
For Lingcod a lively 8-10 inch Mackerel is a sure fire way IMO.
Also a big lively Sardine is hard for them to resist.

John.
Parker 2320 'FloMar'.

·
Registered
3,644 Posts
RCs eat anything they can get their lips around - especially sanddabs. The big trick is finding rocky bottom - yer sonar will easily indicate hard bottom with fishies suspended right above it. I'm not a great fan of winding up an down an up an down an up an down - so heavy jigs or swim baits work great. 65# spectra mainline an a two speed reel (or a 6.2 like a TO30) an yer fishin..... gotta absolutely hit the bottom or you're wasting time, so 6-8oz lead minimum and 1-3# isn't uncommon.

·
Registered
658 Posts