All Coast banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This is my first post although I've been enjoying the great comraderie and info for months. Hope this works!

If fishing from the Newport area where would I go to catch sanddabs?
Huntington Flats?

Any suggestions on rigging?

Anyway, though I prefer "gamefishing", I read last week that local fishing for sanddabs was wide open. When I was a kid, we used to fish Monterey Bay and catch 3-5 on every drop, then go home and sautee up these tender delicious morsels.

I have a couple of kids that love to be on the water and catching anything really makes it a stellar day. However, they have been disappointed when we've released mackerel and leopard sharks and wonder if anything is really edible out there.

We bought our boat a year ago and have fished out of Newport for the last year but, red tide or whatever it didn't seem to be a very productive year for us (I've been fishing locally for 10 years, mostly out of Dana). Until this last year I've had success with local sandy's, calico's, occasional WSB and halibut and tuna in season, but I've never seen sanddabs in Orange County waters.

·
Registered
745 Posts
Hey Matt,
Welcome to the boards. Though I have never fished them I believe the 9 mile oil rigs off Huntington have been known to produce pretty well on the dabs. I know there are some regulars here at AC that will have more info. The topic has come up a few times in the past. Good luck and remember rockfish are out of season.

G

·
0 Posts