Coastal Fishing Forums: AllCoast banner
1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Banned
11,019 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
For years now I've been meaning to replace the shell on my truck. Circa 1970 vintage it was a piece of junk and didn't offer much gear security, but up to now I've been pretty much just fixxing it as it came apart.

About a week ago I decide to take an evening off, rebuild the hatch on it (...again...something like the third time) this time with a better hinge system.

So I took the hatch off carefully removed the glass, carefully cleaned it, then set it aside. I started drawing out a new frame on some aluminum I had sitting around. When I got a call from an old girlfriend. Invited over for dinner and a few beers by an old girlfreind, there's offers you just can't refuse.

Let's just say I was out for a while.

When I got back to the shop I was in a great mood. Took a few measurements, put a few lines down on some tin then headed over to the tool box for a compass to mark the corners...

......and....BOOM!!!!

You guessed it... I walked straight into the hatch glass that was leaning against the toolroom doorway, which of coarse shattered into a few thousand peices.

After the required cussing I started thinking....well what your going to build now?

Since A never liked the old hatch design to begin with I decided to try something completely differen't.

Here's the truck with the old shell (keep in mind this a tow/work vehicle and it's not pretty)

So that's the starting point.

First off I decided to eliminate the hatch and tailgate and go to double doors. While working out the structure for that I realised the rear needed all new skin, so at that point I decided to re-skin the whole thing.

This is how it works in my shop I start with a small two hour project and turn it into a weeks worth of work :7

So here's what it looks like now: